fren

HISTORY

 

In the small Quercy town of Gramat,a few kilometers from Rocamadour, in the house of an artisan cutler, Pierre BONHOMME was born on July 4 1803.
 

After training in the minor seminary of Montfaucon (Lot), he attended the Royal College of Cahors where he received a bachelor’s degree and entered the major seminary of Cahors.
 

He was ordained priest when he was 24 years old and was soon afterwards sent to Gramat.

Father BONHOMME died in Gramat on September 9 1861. He was beatified in ROME on March 23 2003.

Known as “The Quercy Missionary”, Father BONHOMME was a tireless apostle who in 1832 founded the Association of the Daughters of Mary which took in 109 young girls. Witnessing the misery of old people, often abandoned without care, and children roaming in the streets of Gramat, Father BONHOMME wished to open a hospice and a school. He talked to one of the members of the Daughters of Mary, Hortense PRADEL who in turn spoke to her sister and her friends. After a week’s retreat before Our Lady of Rocamadour, they made the vow of dedicating themselves to God in the religious life.

At that moment the CONGREGATION OF THE SISTERS OF OUR LADY OF CALVARY was born.

THE GRAND COUVENT TODAY

 

Today the Sisters of Our Lady of Calvary have their home in the Mother House of Gramat, « the cradle of the Congregation », near the resting places of Blessed Pierre Bonhomme and the Congregation’s foundresses, Hortense PRADEL (in religion, Mother Thérèse) and her sister Adèle PRADEL (in religion, Mother Vincent).

The Congregation continued to develop in France, and at the beginning of the last century the Sisters travelled across the Atlantic to Brazil and Argentina; in 1959 they went to the Ivory Coast, Guinea and Burkina Faso. In 1999 the dream of Asia became reality in the Philippines and lately in Vietnam. For the Sisters around the world, the Mother House of Gramat continues to be the place « source » where the Calvarian Family (lay and religious) meet joyfully together to deepen the Spirituality that inspires them and to share their ever-renewed Charisma.

For many years the Congregation has offered welcome to individuals, families, friends, groups of young people and adults who are seeking a place of rest or of spiritual and human renewal. Long-term or short-term stays are available the whole year round.

At the end of 2015, the Congregation decided to entrust to the Association of LE GRAND COUVENT the mission of developing and organizing its residential activity. This Association consists of Religious and Lay people who undertake to make alive, now and for the future, this precious cultural and religious heritage.

Useful links

Institut Notre-Dame

Ensemble scolaire st Etienne

Institution Ste Hélène

Foyer Notre Dame

Institution Jeanne d'Arc

Notre Dame du Calvaire

I.S.S.I.A.P.P

Institut des Jeunes Sourds

Résidence Pierre Bonhomme

fren

HISTOIRE

 

C’est à Gramat, petit village du Quercy, à quelques kilomètres de Rocamadour, dans le foyer d’un artisan coutelier, que naît le 4 juillet 1803 Pierre BONHOMME .
 

Après une solide formation au petit séminaire de Montfaucon (Lot), il s’inscrit au Collège Royal de Cahors où il obtient le diplôme de bachelier puis entre au grand séminaire de Cahors.
 

Ordonné prêtre à 24 ans, il est envoyé à Gramat.

Le Père BONHOMME meurt à Gramat le 8 septembre 1861. Il sera béatifié à ROME le 23 mars 2003.

Surnommé « missionnaire en Quercy » apôtre infatigable, le Père BONHOMME fonde en 1832 l’Association des Enfants de Marie dans laquelle 109 jeunes filles s’engagent. Devant la misère des personnes âgées, souvent abandonnées et sans soins, et les enfants livrés à eux-mêmes dans les rues de Gramat, le Père BONHOMME veut ouvrir un hospice et une école. Il en parle à l’une des Enfants de Marie, Hortense PRADEL qui elle-même en parle à sa sœur, à ses amies et après une retraite de 8 jours  auprès de Notre Dame de Roc Amadour, elles vont faire le vœu de se consacrer à Dieu dans la vie religieuse.

C’est à ce moment que naît la CONGREGATION  NOTRE DAME DU CALVAIRE.

LE GRAND COUVENT DE NOS JOURS

 

Aujourd’hui les Sœurs de Notre Dame du Calvaire retrouvent leurs racines dans cette Maison Mère  de Gramat « berceau de la Congrégation » auprès du Bienheureux Père Bonhomme et des fondatrices, Hortense PRADEL :
en religion, Mère Thérèse et sa sœur Adèle PRADEL : en religion, Mère VINCENT.

La congrégation ne cesse de se développer en France, puis au début du siècle dernier les sœurs passent la mer et vont  au  Brésil et en Argentine, en 1950 en  Côte d’Ivoire, puis  en Guinée et au Burkina Faso. En 1999 le rêve de l’Asie devient réalité aux Philippines et dernièrement au Vietnam. Pour toutes les sœurs de par le monde, la Maison de Gramat reste le lieu « source » où toute la famille Calvarienne (laïcs et religieuses) est heureuse de se retrouver pour approfondir la spiritualité qui l’anime et partager son charisme toujours renouvelé dans des réalités très différentes.

Depuis de longues années, la Congrégation propose un accueil aux personnes, familles, amis, groupes divers de jeunes ou d’adultes qui cherchent un lieu de repos et/ ou un lieu de ressourcement humain et spirituel. Les séjours, de plus ou moins longue durée, s’effectuent tout au long de l’année.

Fin 2015, la Congrégation a décidé de confier à l’Association « LE GRAND COUVENT » la mission de développer et d’organiser cette activité de séjour. Cette Association constituée de Religieuses et de Laïcs s’est donné pour mission de faire vivre maintenant et dans le futur, ce précieux  héritage culturel et religieux.

LIENS UTILES

Institut Notre-Dame

Ensemble scolaire st Etienne

Institution Ste Hélène

Foyer Notre Dame

Institution Jeanne d'Arc

Notre Dame du Calvaire

I.S.S.I.A.P.P

Institut des Jeunes Sourds

Résidence Pierre Bonhomme